Dad Was Ready To Go

I am delighted to mark my 7 year anniversary with Central New Hampshire VNA &

Dee Laurent

Dee Laurent
Executive Assistant
Central New Hampshire VNA & Hospice

Hospice. In addition to being a wonderful place to work, I have benefited greatly by my years of observing, listening and experiencing our staff do the job that they do. I recently lost both my mother-in-law and my father, 3 months apart. While my father was not a patient of our Hospice program (living in another state), when I got the word that I needed to get home to see him, I took along with me the knowledge of what I needed to say and ask for in order to be an advocate for him. I was able to spend the last 24 hours with my Dad and my family. There were some difficult hurdles to get past, family members that didn’t want to “give up” and some misconceptions about what “care and comfort” meant. I was able to approach the hospital staff, asking the right questions, getting the right staff to talk with my family members to help them understand and make the decisions that were best for my Dad. Thankfully, Dad was awake and alert and able to participate in those decisions. He knew that the oxygen mask was what was keeping him alive and he kept it on until all of the family members were there. He had a chance to see us all, told us he was so happy to see us & loved us. More importantly, he gave us a chance to talk to him, tell him what we wanted to, give him hugs & kisses as we prepared to send him home to be with the Lord. Dad was ready to go. And because of the wonderful staff at the hospital who were well-educated in Hospice & Palliative Care, we, as a family, were ready to let him go. He asked for the mask to be removed, care and comfort measures had already been put into place and were immediately and quietly started. We sang hymns and celebrated as my Dad quietly and peacefully passed away. Over the last few weeks, my Mom & I have been in daily contact and we have marveled and celebrated that my Dad had a good death. I am so very grateful and thankful to the staff at Central New Hampshire VNA & Hospice, especially the influence and education I received from former Hospice Director Andréa Huertas and all of the awesome clinicians I have worked with. We truly have an awesome & dedicated staff and I am thankful to be a part of such a wonderful organization.

Leave a Reply

